Challenge: Pasta Salad!

In honor of the fact that the top movie at the box office right now (The Karate Kid) is an eighties remake, I thought I’d issue a first challenge that takes us back to the decade of decadence in the kitchen…pasta salad!!!

The eighties were my formative years and maybe I’m primed for nostalgia (Ralph Macchio was so dreamy), but there are tons of fresh veggies pouring into my local farmer’s market right now and I can’t think of a better way to use them (at least not this week).  When I first told Erika about my idea she said, “An homage to yuppies, are you kidding?”  But when I reminded her that the delicious salad she made for a picnic last year included orzo, she readily agreed.  No using that recipe Erika, that would totally be cheating!

If you’re like most people, you probably haven’t made a pasta salad in a while, if ever, but I’m here to say that today’s pasta salad can be both tasty and healthy.  Vegetable and pasta choices have exploded in the past twenty-five years and today’s cook can make pasta salads that are, well, Simply Irresistible!  Yes, that was a Robert Palmer pun.  Feel free not to laugh…and don’t forget to check back in a few days to see what we come up with!

